Sandy Hook / Newtown Pilgrimage / The Healing Begins

Broadway with Love

I was overcome by a sea of stuffed animals and grief here at Sandy Hook, Connecticut. I felt as though I was completely surrounded (as if the memorials were enveloping me and other mourners) by personal memorials dedicated to those killed….Signs, Teddy Bears, candles, and more…for as far as I could see. I lost my composure…a lot. I saw a green frog ‘Beanie Baby’ just like one I gave my son nearly 15 years ago. Heartbreaking. 

I made a mound of bird seed and then placed 28 (flameless votives) candles on the mound….it was dusk and the flames shined brightly on the little hillside in the center of Sandy Hook. I had to do this for them….for me…for my family.

About R in burbs

i-ˈnig-mə ~ e- in-ˈten(t)s ~ ˈkā-ˌäs ~ ˈdrōl ~ ˈsi-ni-kəl Curator of various varied blog blurbs from R in the burbs; including gripes, politics, entertainment, and other important matters of incivility and injustice. View all posts by R in burbs

Leave a Reply

